In this uplifting interview, 24-year-old Aušrinė Kėvalaitė from Lithuania shares her insights, the moments she cherishes, and the newfound passion that blossomed amidst her connection with nature.

What is your name? How old are you? Where are you from?

My name is Aušrinė, 24 years old, I am from Lithuania.

What’s your diagnosis?

Ewing sarcoma

How and when did you find out about your diagnosis?

When I was 13 years old, I started feeling a strange pain in my jaw. Gradually, it grew stronger. A little later, I also noticed a growing bump on my jaw, which really worried me. When the doctors took a radiographic picture, they informed my mother that there was definitely a tumor. Unfortunately, further research revealed that it was a very dangerous tumor called Ewing sarcoma.

What has changed in your life since your cancer diagnosis?

After cancer diagnosis, I understood that life is short and unpredictable. I started to value many more things in my life and do it much more, for example, time with family, friends, and my usual presence in nature.

Try to describe yourself in 3 sentences

I am a friendly and very kind person. I really like to help others, so I think that’s the reason I decided to be a psychologist. Also, I love nature, animals and presence in prayer.

What are your achievements to date (formal or informal, education or hobby)?

I finished psychology and additional catholic theology studies. I have also presented reports at scientific conferences and published scientific articles.

What do you do in your free time?

In my free time, I like to be in nature with my family or friends. Sometimes I like to ride a bike. Also, I am a beekeeper so in the summer I spend a lot of time with bees.

Ewing sarcoma patient Ausrine

What is your favourite motto in life?

“Live every day like it is your last”. This motto reminds me that life is short and unpredictable. 

What do you do to relax?

When I want to relax I go to nature and do breathing exercises. Sometimes I just drink coffee or buy something delicious.

What personal goal would you like to achieve next?

Complete my master’s studies. After that I could focus more on work. 

What in your life do you feel most grateful for?

 For my family and amazing sisters. I can trust them and I know that despite the reason they will always help me. 

Which app do you use the most on your phone?

Instagram, because on this app I like to share my time in stories.

What is one book you would definitely recommend to read? Or a movie to watch? Or a song to listen to?

It would surely be „Miracles from Heaven“. This movie reminds me that miracles are real and sometimes when we really pray and ask God, He helps us.